Ferguson Named Interim Director of Financial Aid

Thursday, July 16, 2020

Nancy Ferguson

Anthony Jones, Director of the Office of Student Financial Aid will be departing on July 24, 2020 and Nancy Ferguson will take over responsibilities as the Interim Director while a national search for a permeant replacement will be launched soon.

Jones, brought extensive expertise in financial aid policy and distribution and oversaw the distribution of over $600 million in student aid annually, including $37 million in scholarships. He successfully led the University’s implementation of the Scholarship Universe platform for both student scholarship search, institutional scholarship processing, and fund account management. Jones built a strong team and created a collaborative work culture through his innovative and thoughtful leadership, we wish him well in his next endeavor. 

Ferguson is no stranger to Student Financial Aid as she has served as the Senior Associate Director for the last year and a half where she oversees general office operations and compliance. She has worked for the office for more than 20 years, beginning her career as a Federal Work-Study Coordinator in 1999. In her current role she oversees a number of critical functions including but not limited to client services; student eligibility determinations; federal, state, and institutional programs management; outreach and programming; staff training and professional development; and communications.

As a former President of the Georgia Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators, she is very involved in state, regional, and national professional associations. She is a member of both Georgia Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators and the Southern Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators.                                 

Ferguson has a bachelor’s degree in English and master’s degree in adult education both from the University of Georgia. She also is a certified financial aid professional, one of the first in the country as designated by the National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators.